A Love Story

Contributed by Vince Williams

My marriage changed forever on April 20, 1992 when our beautiful daughter, Marie, was born.  I could not imagine prior to that moment what it meant to be a father.  When I held her for the first time and realized that she was my responsibility to show her love and compassion and the joys of life, I knew she deserved my best.

On November 27, 1993 my first son, Chris, was born.  The first time I saw and held him I realized that love is not a zero sum product.  Love is an infinite gift.  When Chris was born my love for my family wasn’t split from three ways to four, it increased in magnitude.  More family means more love.

A very odd Friday morning on January 9, 1998 saw Gavin my second son join us.  Not only did I get to witness Gavin’s birth, but I got to deliver him.  The doctor and nurse, as doctors and nurses do, didn’t listen to me when I said, “he’s coming now!”  So, Gavin was born into my arms while the doctor and nurse had their backs turned trying to put on gloves and get equipment ready.  And the love in our family increased another exponential amount.

My wife, Traci, and I have been blessed with three wonderful and amazing kids for virtually our entire married life.  I can’t imagine what life would be without children.  They are the product of love and joy shared between a committed and married couple.  They are a reflection of that love.

On December 3, 2010, our love was increased again in another magnificent and amazing way.  Olesya, our new daughter joined our family.  Leesie, as we call her, is an amazing 8 year old young lady and that captured the hearts of everyone in the family instantly.  Before Leesie came to our family I worried how I would feel about her compared to our other three children.  Then she got of the car at 9:30 in the morning in the Greenville Zoo parking lot, looked at me and Traci and gave us a shy smile.  I will never worry again.

Traci and I have had the unique experience of getting three children through the young years and now get to start right in the middle again.  For years Traci and I dreaded Christmas shopping.  Toy-R-Us was one step away from Hell.  We negotiated deals to see who would “have” to go.  This year shopping at Toy-R-Us was more fun than it had been in about 15 years.  Leesie has helped us remember the reason for the season.

There was another father who had a son.  This father loved his son every bit as much as we all love our kids.  This son spent his time of Earth teaching us how to love and sacrifice and at the end of his life he gave us the perfect example of love and sacrifice.

As Traci and I get to watch all the children’s Christmas shows again I am very disappointed to see that the real meaning of Christmas is completely missing.  I see Santa Claus, presents and one show that talked about the power of the Christmas star.  Christmas is about family, one family in particular.  It is a celebration of the birth of that one son who came to the world so that we could become a part of that family.

This Christmas season please remember the real meaning of Christmas and give thanks.

“Then the angel said to her, “Do not be afraid, Mary, for you have found favor with God.  Behold, you will conceive in your womb and bear a son, and you shall name him Jesus.  He will be great and will be called Son of the Most High, and the Lord God will give him the throne of David his father, and he will rule over the house of Jacob forever, and of his kingdom there will be no end.”  Luke 1:30-33

One Comment to “A Love Story”

  1. Great article, Vince. I remember that day in April of 1992 as well. You are a good man.

Leave a Reply

