The right to bear arms, or not

Contributed by Flynn Bowie

The Supreme Court recently overturned an Illinois law that banned handgun ownership in the City of Chicago. One old guy there argued that the 2nd Amendment gives him the right to own a gun as long as he lives in the United States and Chicago can’t take that right away. The court agreed, and I am glad.

I am nearly 44 years old. In all of my years, I have never been in a situation where I said “I wish I had a pistol” or “things would have been different if I had been carrying a handgun.” I owned a Mauser .380 automatic for a brief time before I sold it and bought an indestructible Remington 870 Express 12-gauge pump shotgun with a composite stock and matte finish. I have received more pleasure from shooting that gun over the better part of two decades than I ever did with the .380.

I know people — friends — who have been the victims of violent crime. In none of their cases would possession of a handgun have altered the outcome in any positive way. In fact, in one case I’m pretty certain my friend would be dead now if there had been a handgun in the house. Were it not for a neighbor’s “funny feeling that something was wrong,” he would most certainly have been doused in gasoline and set afire by his roommate while trussed up with an extension cord upside down by his feet over a door. If there had been a gun in the apartment, the roommate would not have had to go to the convenience store to get the gas, thus allowing the neighbor to intervene.

I love shooting. I own rifles and shotguns, and I know how to use them safely and effectively. I have children in the house, so I also know how to keep and store them safely and responsibly. I have chosen not to own handguns. That being said, I completely honor and respect anyone else’s desire to own a gun. And by “gun” I mean handgun, shotgun, rifle, AK-47 or bazooka. The framers of our Constitution recognized that as long as the government had sole possession of firearms, then government could control the people. And if government can control the people, it can do anything it pleases without reprisal. That’s why we have a Second Amendment, and that’s why I will forever side with those who defend private gun ownership.

3 Comments to “The right to bear arms, or not”

  1. does anyone know where i can buy a howitzer for my front yard?
    Does the government have the right to regulate gun ownership at all?
    Can the government stop me from possessing a machine gun? how about a tank?
    An atomic bomb is armament. Can I own one of those?
    Im glad you love your gun. Im not glad some other folks have guns.
    Guns for home protection, ok. For hunting? Sure. But isnt there some limit? If so, where is it?If not, there should be?

  2. I think where you draw the line is the heart of the argument, and lately the line has been getting closer and closer to my 12-gauge. So far we as Americans have given back to the Federal Government our right to own assault rifles and automatic fire weapons. The battleground now is hand guns and serialized ammunition. If we give back our right to own a handgun, how long will it take before they come for my shotgun?

  3. “A well regulated militia being necessary to the security of a free State, the right of the People to keep and bear arms shall not be infringed.”

    Evidently, the SCOTUS was able to discern that the phrase “shall not be infringed” really meant what it said. This is now settled law. Learn to deal with it.

Leave a Reply

